VIEW THIS AS

Auto mode follows the Route Engine until you choose a viewpoint.

YOU ARE HERE

ROUTE CHECK

CONNECTED TO

WHAT NEXT

Use the canonical route for this room, or HELP if you are unsure.

New Releases for HDB and Singapore Housing Year 2027/2028 | Lorong Puntong and Sin Ming Avenue: S$208.1 Million Award, 140 Homes and Bright Hill MRT

URA awarded the Lorong Puntong/Sin Ming Avenue residential site to Eco World Development (S) on 18 September 2026 for S$208,099,000. The 99-year private land parcel measures 4,283.4 square metres, has a maximum permissible gross floor area of 11,994 square metres and was estimated at its June tender launch to accommodate about 140 private apartments. The developer tender opened on 25 June and closed on 15 September. This is a real land award, not an HDB Build-To-Order sale, a fixed developer price list or a guarantee that apartments will be handed over in 2027 or 2028.

The site is close to Bright Hill MRT on the operating Thomson–East Coast Line, with the Cross Island Line planned to make Bright Hill an interchange in a later phase. The Sin Ming and Upper Thomson area also connects to established homes, local shops and nature destinations such as Bishan–Ang Mo Kio Park and the Central Catchment environment, although the actual walking routes vary. This guide explains the 2026 award, why this land site was previously called simply Lorong Puntong, what the 140-unit estimate means, and how to compare private condominium ownership with genuine HDB new and resale housing while keeping rail and home-completion timelines separate.

  • URA official land award: 18 September 2026 at Lorong Puntong/Sin Ming Avenue
  • Successful developer: Eco World Development (S) Pte Ltd
  • Winning bid: S$208,099,000, about S$208.1 million
  • Land price per permissible GFA: S$17,350.26 per square metre
  • Site area: 4,283.4 sq m; maximum permissible GFA: 11,994 sq m
  • 99-year tenure; residential zoning; private developer property rather than HDB BTO
  • URA estimated approximately 140 potential private apartments in its 25 June 2026 release
  • Tender opened 25 June; closed 15 September; awarded 18 September 2026
  • Previously referred to as Lorong Puntong in the first-half 2026 GLS programme, with Sin Ming Avenue added in the final label
  • Existing Bright Hill MRT serves the Thomson–East Coast Line, already operating
  • Future Cross Island Line Phase 1 is planned to interchange at Bright Hill; early official target 2030, subject to LTA updates
  • Broader district includes Sin Ming, Upper Thomson and Bishan routes, but a station’s exact walk depends on the final project entrance
  • Neighbourhood’s food, retail and nature amenities should be evaluated for real accessibility, not town-wide proximity
  • Related Kitchener Link was on a separate Reserve List in the June release and is not the same tender
  • Actual condo project name, unit mix, retail prices, shared facilities and key-collection dates remain unannounced by URA’s award
  • Buyers must budget private mortgage, stamp duties, maintenance and possible HDB resale sequencing if upgrading
  • Factual checkpoint 6 November 2026; later approved developer information supersedes early estimates

Factual review 6 November 2026. This is an independent explanation of an awarded private land parcel, not a ready condo sale or HDB application. Future apartment and rail service dates must be checked separately.

Guide chapters — land tender, Bright Hill and the homeowner’s decision

  • 1. The actual 18 September 2026 land award
  • 2. The precise parcel and its development capacity
  • 3. About 140 apartments: what the estimate covers
  • 4. What the S$208.1 million land bid means
  • 5. Why the site was previously called Lorong Puntong
  • 6. Bright Hill MRT is operating on the Thomson–East Coast Line
  • 7. The future Cross Island Line interchange at Bright Hill
  • 8. The Sin Ming and Upper Thomson neighbourhood
  • 9. Bright Hill, Bishan–Ang Mo Kio Park and green access
  • 10. Why a private condo differs from HDB housing nearby
  • 11. Schools, childcare and the limits of address-based assumptions
  • 12. Shared facilities, parking and maintenance are still unknown
  • 13. What the developer still must accomplish before apartment sales
  • 14. Comparing Sin Ming with other central-north options
  • 15. A source-checked 2027/2028 housing tracker
  • 16. Conclusion: a genuine award, but a future apartment still to be defined
  • Practical household examples
  • Frequently asked questions
  • Official sources and related guides

1. The actual 18 September 2026 land award

The most significant confirmed new housing development at Lorong Puntong/Sin Ming Avenue is the award of a private residential land parcel to Eco World Development (S). URA announced the successful bid on 18 September 2026, three days after the developer tender closed. The site was initially offered in June under the first-half 2026 Government Land Sales programme.

The award identifies an actual developer and price. That is a stronger stage than an area merely marked for future housing in a long-term map, but it is not yet a consumer apartment sale. The developer still needs to move through design, regulatory approval, marketing and construction before any individual unit can be purchased and occupied.

Readers should not confuse this transaction with HDB’s Build-To-Order programme. Here the buyer at the land stage is a developer, not an eligible household applying for subsidised public housing. The eventual apartments will follow the approved private property route.

A household with plans for 2027 or 2028 can research the location and prepare financially, but it cannot treat the land-award announcement as a reserved replacement home. Current resale or legitimate rental alternatives may be more useful if the moving deadline is soon.

2. The precise parcel and its development capacity

URA’s award table lists 4,283.4 square metres of land and a maximum permissible gross floor area of 11,994 square metres. These figures help identify the correct parcel near the Sin Ming corridor. A site this size may support a relatively compact private development, though the final number and shape of buildings depend on the authorised design.

Gross floor area is a planning control, not the sum of legal saleable apartment sizes. The developer must fit circulation, building services, safety, access and other requirements into its proposal. Dividing 11,994 by the anticipated unit count does not tell a buyer the precise area or layout of any eventual flat.

The 99-year lease is a land tenure condition. It does not establish the maintenance fees, property tax bill or completion date of an individual home. Those require approved project and transaction information.

A useful housing guide should use the parcel’s dimensions to distinguish it from other nearby sites, then wait for the actual consumer property documents before making claims about bedrooms, carparks, balcony space and views. Technical numbers are valuable only when interpreted at the right stage.

3. About 140 apartments: what the estimate covers

URA’s 25 June 2026 release estimated that Lorong Puntong/Sin Ming Avenue could yield around 140 private residential units. The figure communicates potential housing supply from the land parcel, not a final approved inventory available for booking. The eventual developer may propose different unit sizes and arrangements subject to planning requirements.

A couple hoping for a two-bedroom apartment cannot infer that a particular number of such homes will exist. A family needing three or more bedrooms likewise has to wait for the actual project. A rough estimated dwelling count cannot substitute for the legal floor plan and confirmed retail price.

The number also belongs to the private market. It is not 140 subsidised HDB flats, and households cannot apply through HDB’s BTO ballot or claim the Enhanced CPF Housing Grant merely because the government sold the land.

Track 140 as an estimate in the property pipeline, and replace it with approved unit details when announced. This approach gives readers genuine information about future choice without implying that the apartments have already been constructed, priced or allocated.

4. What the S$208.1 million land bid means

Eco World Development’s winning tender price was S$208,099,000, which URA expressed as S$17,350.26 per square metre of permissible gross floor area. The number is useful for describing the successful land sale and comparing developer interest in different sites. It is not the price the developer will ask for each apartment.

The future project must still incur costs for design, construction, financing, regulatory compliance and marketing. Individual unit prices can vary with area, floor, orientation and demand. Dividing the land bid by 140 estimated homes ignores these factors and can produce a misleading supposed average property price.

A buyer should prepare a mortgage and monthly cost ceiling based on real household finances rather than an assumed markup on the land bid. Private home ownership may involve stamp duties, property taxes and maintenance contributions that differ from HDB ownership.

The correct purchase decision comes when approved apartment details and genuine prices are available. A high land rate can make an interesting economic headline, but it cannot guarantee future capital appreciation or prove what a particular family can afford.

5. Why the site was previously called Lorong Puntong

The first-half 2026 Government Land Sales programme used the shorter location label Lorong Puntong. URA’s final tender and award refer to Lorong Puntong/Sin Ming Avenue. This is a naming clarification rather than a second separate land parcel automatically created by a revised address.

Different names in older and newer articles can confuse readers who compare the site with another property development. The safer way to verify identity is to use the parcel area, award date and developer. This specific site is 4,283.4 square metres and was awarded to Eco World Development (S) on 18 September 2026.

A person may also encounter future condominium marketing names that do not include either road. That is normal, but the authorised project should be traceable to the actual land parcel and developer group. A brand name alone cannot establish the property’s legal identity.

Accurate local information preserves both labels and their dates. It prevents a neighbourhood housing guide from double-counting one site as two different projects or attaching an old photograph from an unrelated development.

6. Bright Hill MRT is operating on the Thomson–East Coast Line

Bright Hill MRT Station provides an existing Thomson–East Coast Line connection for the wider Sin Ming area. URA’s June site-release description specifically identified the land as near Bright Hill. That is an important and verifiable transport advantage, particularly for households whose daily journeys align with the operating line.

However, a nearby station does not automatically mean an individual apartment has a direct sheltered entrance. The final building access, pedestrian crossings, gradients and actual walking route determine how useful the station is. A person carrying groceries or using a mobility aid may take a different path from an able-bodied commuter.

A family should map work, caregiving, healthcare and childcare journeys separately. A direct trip to one workplace may be attractive, while travel to another region could still require transfers. The household’s full routine determines whether the location is right.

Existing rail is a practical asset that can be evaluated now, but it must be balanced with the future apartment’s actual price, unit size and occupation date. Transport convenience alone cannot make an otherwise unsuitable or unaffordable property a good purchase.

7. The future Cross Island Line interchange at Bright Hill

The Cross Island Line is expected to add a new rail connection at Bright Hill, eventually making it an interchange with the Thomson–East Coast Line. LTA has previously targeted 2030 for the first phase, subject to construction, testing and later official updates. This is a future network benefit, not a currently operating service in November 2026.

A household evaluating the area for a move during 2027 or 2028 should use the transport services that work today. Do not promise a child or commuter a specific CRL journey before the line opens. The existence of a future station on a map does not replace an actual current route.

The eventual interchange could give residents more travel choices across Singapore. Its precise effect depends on where household members need to go, how they reach the station and the actual service pattern when operational.

A sensible purchase plan works without relying on the new line and treats CRL as an added benefit later. This protects a family from a schedule mismatch between the private apartment and the rail project, neither of which should be declared ready solely from the land award.

8. The Sin Ming and Upper Thomson neighbourhood

The Sin Ming and Upper Thomson area is an established residential and commercial part of Singapore, with nearby older housing, local shops, food businesses and access to various parks. This can help a future development feel connected to a functioning neighbourhood rather than isolated within a newly planned town.

But an area’s reputation is not enough to determine a particular property’s daily convenience. The precise parcel is near Lorong Puntong and Sin Ming Avenue, so a buyer should evaluate local roads, entrances and public transport rather than assume every Upper Thomson destination is within a short walk.

A household may value familiar local food and neighbourhood services, but practical access differs by age and mobility. Someone using a wheelchair or stroller needs safe crossings, manageable gradients and reliable lifts on the journey.

The most useful comparison identifies specific errands and repeated destinations, not merely a collection of attractions across Bishan and Thomson. A home works well when ordinary life can be organised comfortably, and a desirable neighbourhood label is only the starting point of that assessment.

9. Bright Hill, Bishan–Ang Mo Kio Park and green access

Bishan–Ang Mo Kio Park and the wider Central Catchment region provide valuable recreation resources near the Sin Ming and Thomson corridor. Residents may enjoy walking, cycling and outdoor activity, subject to actual public paths and the distance from their homes. Green access can improve everyday life when it is safe and genuinely usable.

The new land award does not guarantee that all future apartment windows face a park or that there is a private path into a nature reserve. Orientation, future neighbouring buildings and official access rules matter. A green line on an area map may be habitat or a park connector rather than a general public shortcut.

For families with children, a safe playground route may matter more than proximity to a large park. Older residents may prefer short accessible walks with seating and shelter. Different recreational priorities produce different housing preferences.

A future home should be assessed through its actual public paths, transport and finances. Parks can enrich the location, but they cannot compensate for a mortgage that consumes the family’s emergency buffer or a daily journey that remains impractical.

10. Why a private condo differs from HDB housing nearby

The Lorong Puntong/Sin Ming Avenue parcel is intended for private homes. Eligible buyers of HDB new flats use a separate programme involving household criteria, HFE, grants, loan assessment and Minimum Occupation Period conditions. These public-housing rules do not automatically apply to a private development merely because URA released the site.

A future private home buyer needs to understand bank financing, buyer’s stamp duty and any additional applicable duties, property tax, strata management and the legal sale contract. These can create a different financial burden from an HDB resale or BTO apartment. A comparison without the full costs is unreliable.

An HDB homeowner considering an upgrade should review the timing of selling the current flat, refunding CPF used with accrued interest and redeeming outstanding housing debt. Selling before the private unit is secured can create an expensive interim housing gap.

The right decision is based on actual available properties and personal affordability. The site award can signal a new option in the future, but it does not replace an HDB grant-supported home or instantly create a legally purchasable private apartment.

11. Schools, childcare and the limits of address-based assumptions

Families may be interested in schools and childcare in the broader Thomson or Bishan area. Proximity can reduce daily travel when a home is actually occupied, but a new property purchase does not guarantee a school admission or preschool vacancy. MOE registration and individual childcare providers operate under separate conditions.

A child may be due to begin school before the future condo is ready. The land award does not specify a completion date, so it cannot establish an occupied address for a particular registration year. Parents should use their current housing arrangements and the latest official school rules when making educational decisions.

Caregiving routes matter too. A grandparent providing daily pickup might live nearby, but the actual path from the new development could involve roads and transport that need checking. A few minutes of difference on a repeated trip can be important over years.

A family should evaluate the complete schedule, not only a list of nearby institutions. Good housing research combines school and care needs with the actual apartment layout, household funding and a reliable moving date.

12. Shared facilities, parking and maintenance are still unknown

The land award gives the permitted development and approximate home count, but it does not publish the final list of pools, gyms, gardens, parking spaces or other common amenities. Those features are part of later developer design and legal disclosure. A buyer should not accept a generic artist’s impression as proof that a particular facility is included.

A compact private development may offer a different balance between shared facilities and maintenance charges from a large condominium. That can suit different preferences. Someone who rarely uses a pool may prefer a simpler project, while a family may be willing to pay for useful shared recreation.

Parking and accessibility need to be examined along with facilities. A household with a car should check actual parking arrangements. A person with reduced mobility needs safe lift and entrance routes. None of these can be determined precisely from the site area and 140-unit estimate.

The correct time for detailed comparison is the authorised property launch. Until then, use the award to identify the development pipeline and avoid inventing amenities or recurring fees that will influence financial decisions.

13. What the developer still must accomplish before apartment sales

Eco World Development’s acquisition of the land is an important step, but apartment sales require a further development programme. The developer must progress through relevant approvals and project design, then make authorised sale materials available in accordance with property rules. Construction and legal completion follow their own sequence.

An official developer project may eventually describe the approved apartment count, individual unit dimensions, prices and expected possession. These are the meaningful facts for a family deciding whether to purchase a specific home. The September award by itself does not contain them.

A property marketing website may predict an upcoming launch year based on typical industry timelines. Such forecasts can be interesting but are not equivalent to a binding contractual date. Buyers should not pay a deposit or sell existing housing based solely on an optimistic prediction.

A simple progress tracker can record land tender, award, approved project, retail sales and completion as distinct stages. That approach turns a long property development process into understandable reader information without overstating certainty.

14. Comparing Sin Ming with other central-north options

A household may consider the eventual Lorong Puntong private project against existing homes in Bishan, Ang Mo Kio, Upper Thomson or other areas served by the Thomson–East Coast Line. The best comparison requires real unit prices and terms, which are available for some current properties but not yet established for this awarded parcel.

Assess the actual mortgage and recurring expenses alongside daily journeys. A home near Bright Hill might reduce one commute but increase travel to relatives elsewhere. The household’s support network and work patterns can change during a long ownership period.

Existing resale homes can offer earlier occupation and an established environment, though renovation and remaining lease may matter. A future private home could offer newer design but may involve a longer wait. Neither is universally superior.

The sensible choice passes multiple tests: affordable payments, adequate space, accessible travel, suitable timing and an acceptable long-term ownership arrangement. Location reputation is useful context but does not decide which actual home fits a particular family.

15. A source-checked 2027/2028 housing tracker

Start with the official URA 18 September 2026 award and the 25 June site launch. Record the 4,283.4-square-metre parcel, 11,994-square-metre maximum GFA, approximately 140 potential units, developer group and winning price. Add a note explaining the earlier shorter label Lorong Puntong so older references can be matched.

Create separate columns for the authorised private project, its final unit mix, retail price, sales date, construction status and legal completion. Leave each one marked pending until supported by later documentation. Do not assume a 2028 ready date from the 2026 land transaction.

For transport, identify Bright Hill TEL as existing and Cross Island Line as future. The precise opening date should be obtained from updated LTA notices. Daily services and accessible routes should also be verified independently from the completed building entrance.

Finally, add household-specific fields: financing, work journeys, family care, childcare and move-in deadline. Those criteria determine whether the eventual home is worth considering. A well-maintained tracker makes updates useful rather than simply repeating the same land bid with newer years in the title.

16. Conclusion: a genuine award, but a future apartment still to be defined

The Lorong Puntong/Sin Ming Avenue award is a concrete September 2026 housing-development milestone. URA identified Eco World Development (S), a S$208.1 million bid and a 99-year site capable of around 140 private homes. The location near operating Bright Hill MRT gives it a practical transport context that prospective residents can examine.

What the award does not do is establish individual apartment prices, an HDB BTO ballot, a guaranteed 2028 key date or a confirmed set of condo facilities. These matters depend on later approved project and developer disclosures. The future Cross Island Line is another separate project with its own timetable.

Families can prepare with realistic budgets and current travel information while monitoring legitimate future sales. If housing is needed sooner, completed resale or rental alternatives remain important, even when a new site sounds promising.

A useful housing guide makes the genuine news clear, then shows what evidence is still missing. That allows readers to remain interested without making expensive commitments to a property that has not yet been offered as an individual home.

Practical household examples

A first-time HDB buyer who sees ‘140 homes’

The estimate belongs to private residential land awarded to a developer, not HDB new-flat inventory. Apply for genuine HDB flats through the official portal with the relevant HFE assessment. The land award does not provide a BTO grant or priority ballot chance.

A buyer dividing the S$208.1m price by 140

The result is only an approximate land-cost share per estimated home, without building costs, unit mix or retail sales margins. It is not an apartment asking price. Wait for authorised development documents before judging affordability.

A couple who work near Bright Hill

The existing Thomson–East Coast Line can offer useful commuting routes, but the actual development entrance and walking path remain to be confirmed. Compare total travel for both partners and any childcare or family-care journeys before committing to a future apartment.

A family depending on the Cross Island Line in 2027

The CRL station connection at Bright Hill is a future project, with Phase 1 targeted for 2030 under earlier LTA planning. Do not assume the interchange is operating in 2027. Use existing transport and leave future rail as an added benefit.

A homeowner hoping to upgrade from HDB

Check whether the current flat meets any MOP requirements, then account for mortgage redemption, CPF refunds and duties. A private site award does not establish a replacement property or completion date. Avoid selling prematurely without a feasible accommodation plan.

A parent interested in schools in the area

The nearby education landscape may be useful, but school admission is governed by separate MOE requirements. An unbuilt future address cannot automatically guarantee registration eligibility or a place. Keep a realistic plan for the child’s actual transition date.

An older resident needing step-free access

Bright Hill MRT is operating, but the final entrance, lift and crossing routes from the future project remain subject to design. Check genuine accessible end-to-end travel to healthcare and family when the apartment becomes available.

Someone who saw a site called only Lorong Puntong

URA used that shorter label in earlier programme material before referring to Lorong Puntong/Sin Ming Avenue in the final tender. Verify the 4,283.4-square-metre parcel and Eco World award before assuming two different sites were sold.

A household wanting a gym and pool

The current land award does not specify such amenities. The final developer might offer a particular mix of shared facilities and maintenance obligations, but they must be confirmed by the authorised project. Do not base a purchase on a generic condominium illustration.

A person interested in Bishan–Ang Mo Kio Park

Outdoor access can be valuable, but the park’s actual distance and route from a future apartment need checking. A broad area map does not guarantee an immediate park entrance or permanent green view. Consider actual daily use and mobility needs.

A family that must move before 2028

An award in September 2026 is not a contractual completion notice. Compare genuine resale and rental homes with known availability. Keep the new private project on a watchlist without relying on an unknown moving date.

A private buyer worried about higher interest rates

Build an affordability plan using a sustainable monthly payment and an emergency reserve, rather than borrowing up to the absolute maximum. Real apartment prices, duties and maintenance must be included when the developer eventually launches the project.

An investor who expects prices to soar near the MRT

A transport improvement can add convenience, but no official land award guarantees appreciation. Market prices depend on financing, competing supply, household demand and the final building. Model downside scenarios and avoid relying on speculative resale proceeds.

A commuter comparing Sin Ming with Serangoon North

The future Serangoon North station is not operating yet, while Bright Hill TEL already does. Compare real present travel and future planned connections separately. Both sites also have different development status: Sin Ming has a land award while Serangoon North View remains on the Reserve List.

Frequently asked questions

When was the Lorong Puntong/Sin Ming Avenue site awarded?

18 September 2026.

Who won the tender?

Eco World Development (S) Pte Ltd.

What was the winning bid?

S$208,099,000.

What is the reported land rate?

S$17,350.26 per square metre of permissible gross floor area.

What is the land area?

4,283.4 square metres.

What is its maximum GFA?

11,994 square metres.

What is the site’s tenure?

99 years.

How many homes were estimated?

Approximately 140 potential private residences.

When was the tender launched?

25 June 2026.

When did it close?

15 September 2026.

Was it previously called Lorong Puntong?

Yes. The longer location label was used in the final launch and award.

Which MRT station is nearby?

Bright Hill on the Thomson–East Coast Line.

Is the Cross Island Line available at Bright Hill today?

No, the CRL connection is a future project.

Does the award establish a 2028 condo completion?

No. Individual development completion is not set by the land-award notice.

Is this an HDB BTO sale?

No. It concerns private residential development.

Can an HDB EHG be used to book it?

HDB new-flat grants do not automatically apply to private condominium purchases.

Are apartment unit sizes and prices already published?

Not in the URA September 2026 award.

Are park and school access guaranteed?

No. Real routes and admissions require their own verification.

Who sets later apartment prices?

The authorised developer will publish actual property-level terms in its relevant sales process.

What should buyers track now?

Approved project details, retail launch, completion, transport and total ownership cost.

Official sources and related guides

The September URA land award establishes the site and successful bidder. A genuine private home price and completion will need later authorised developer information. The HDB portal governs separate public housing.

URA 18 September 2026 Lorong Puntong/Sin Ming Avenue award

URA 25 June 2026 land launch and 140 potential homes

URA current awarded private Government Land Sales sites

LTA Cross Island Line planning and Phase 1 information

HDB actual new-flat BTO/SBF purchase route

eduKate housing releases tracker 2027/2028

eduKate Serangoon North View Reserve List comparison

eduKate Singapore housing 2027–2036 regional map